I recently spent an afternoon making BBQ sauces, and I hit upon a problem. I’d just finished making an awesome spicy sauce for next week’s smoked pork shoulder, when I remembered that my youngest daughter Abi was unlikely to enjoy it much.

Suffice it to say that she hasn’t inherited my love of the hotter end of the spicerack, while my new BBQ sauce, as a friend of mine likes to say, really slams the back door shut.

So I created something a little different – altogether softer and sweeter, with a few surprises nonetheless. I call it Sweet Abi Sauce.

With these ingredients, I guess it should be fine in the refrigerator for a few weeks. Probably best served warm.

Ingredients

  • 1 small red onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • A little oil (sunflower, olive, vegetable, it doesn’t matter)
  • 1 cup tomato ketchup
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh coriander
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp liquid smoke
  • pinch of salt

Recipe

  1. Fry the red onion and garlic in the oil until soft.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients and simmer gently for about 15 minutes.
  3. Blitz it in a blender to puree the remaining solids.
